Things to do in Amsterdam

I am off to Amsterdam with work for the weekend at the beginning of October. I work in an Architect’s office so the main focus for this ‘team building’ trip will be Architecture.

However, in the afternoon on the first day and the morning of the last day we are able to go and explore the city on our own. The main thing I hope to be able to go and see is The Anne Frank Museum.

For those of you that do not know, Anne Frank is probably one of the most well known and discussed Holocaust victims due to the diary entries she left behind depicting her life in hiding.

Her diary was saved by one the helpers, Miep Gies and her father, the only survivor from the Frank family, managed to get them published as a booked titled ‘The Diary of a Young Girl. 

The museum gives you a chance to see the room in which Anne Frank and her family hid away from the Nazi’s that invade the Netherlands.

I have always been interested in learning what it was like for Jewish people during Hitler’s reign. I first learnt about the second world war in my history classes in secondary school. It is such a shocking piece of history and I cannot believe that such a terrible thing took place. 

I hope to be able to visit this house to witness where eight people lived for over two years and to learn more about Anne Frank and her family.

It is open daily from 9am-9pm and costs nine euros. It is located in the centre of Amsterdam at Prinsengracht 263-267. People are advised to pre book their tickets to avoid the cues. 

Having studied Vincent van Gogh’s work as part of my GCSE art classes I would be kean to visit the Van Gogh museum. The museum’s aim is to make the work of Vincent and other artists during his time period accessible to as many people as possible.

A ticket costs £12 (17 euroes) and the Museum is open from 9am-5pm daily, closing at the later time of 10pm on Fridays.

I wonder whether I should take a stroll through the red light district, just to say I have seen it all?…the saying ‘when in Rome’ springs to mind but I definitely don’t plan on smoking any weed or entering one of the seedy establishments.

I have heard that riding a bike along the 400-year-old waterways is a joyous experience. It is also considered a ‘very dutch thing to do’. 

After doing a bit of research, there are many places that you can rent the bikes from…MacBike or Rent-A-Bike. Prices from as little as £4 (6 euroes). Apparently you can also pay to ride on the bike of someone else’s bike, a new thing that has surfaced in Holland. 

Considering the time I have to explore, I think this little list of things will keep me going and is a good starting point for anyone else visiting the city. If anyone else has some suggestions of what I can do with my limited free time and if you know of any reasonably priced places to eat the please do let me know! 

2 thoughts on “Things to do in Amsterdam

  1. You will love Amsterdam I am sure! The main thing is without a doubt the Anne Frank house. The Van Gogh museum is also not far from the Heineken Factory which is worth visiting. I have a post all about Amsterdam if you want some tips! Hannah x

    Like

Leave a Reply

