Comment: Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens

A few weeks ago I watched the latest Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens trailer and it got me very excited.

I can remember when my dad took me to see my first ever film at the cinema. It so happened to be Star Wars. I was eight years old and still hadn’t been to the cinema.

As you can imagine I was very excited, and it probably wasn’t due to the film I was seeing, more the cinema visit itself.

I guess from then on, for me, the Star Wars films have a sentimental value attached to them. I wasn’t around to enjoy Star Wars first time round and a little too young to understand what makes a brilliant film brilliant.

Now I am old enough and interested in films to be able to judge and appreciate it all. This may be the cause of my excitement when so many others feel like another Star Wars is taking it too far.

It has been said that George Lucas, the mind, body and soul behind Star Wars, had been discussing it way back in the 1970s.

Disney bought George Lucas’s production company (LucasFilm) for a whopping £2.5 billion. With the involvement of Disney and the clips I have seen already I can not imagine anything but greatness coming from these new films.

The film is set 30 years after the Return of the Jedi. I imagine when most Star Wars buffs and fans watch the film they will feel as if they have grown up alongside the characters in the films. I felt like this when I watched Toy Story 3.

I am really looking forward to seeing the whole gang back together and definitely plan on having a Star Wars themed few days re-watching all the old movies before going to the cinema with my Dad.

From a ‘girly’ love story point of view I would quite like to see what becomes of Leia and Han’s children. Yes, they have children. It happens in the expanded book universe, but the films might not follow exactly.

From what I have read there will be a female protagonist. Will this be new character Rey, from planet Jakku who ‘meets another character’ and begins her adventure?

I find it quite interesting to be able to see what one of the stormtroopers look like under their mask. For years, as a child, I always thought of them as robots rather than real people. Finn is featured in the trailer and is the worried guy running around without his stormtrooper helmet on.

Amongst the rumour mill , the opening scene will consist of someone finding Luke Skywalker’s hand. It is then believed that part of the film will be based around new characters Rey and Finn searching for Luke Skywalker.

Without one of the greatest cinematic villains, Darth Vadar, who will fill his shoes? Will character Kylo Ren, played by actor Adam Driver fit the bill – we will just have to wait and see. What we do know is that he is very fond of the black outfits and interesting lightsaber designs.

We know that the old classic characters are said to return but there has been very little discussion on their roles within the new films.

George Lucas has not directed the film, so it will be interesting to see J.J Abrams fresh new take on the heady task he had set before him.

Lucas also believes that Kathleen Kennedy, the new president of LucasFilm, will nurture Star Wars into a new beginning of not only films but television, interactive media, theme parks, live entertainment and consumer products.

The lightsaber is now commonly recognized in popular culture and I guarantee it will be dusted down and bought all over again by new younger fans.

Fathers and mothers may be hiding their own nerdy excitement, too ashamed to admit it, behind their children’s when taking them to the cinema.

I am sure I am not alone in my nervous excitement for this fresh new era of Star Wars films. Let’s just hope the newbies can fill George Lucas’ ginormous shoes and they do not kill off what we know and love, like so many other prequels seem to do.

One thought on “Comment: Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens

Leave a Reply

