One good thing about being ill

The last 48 hours have been a whirlwind. I was suffering from lower back pain, constant pain that would not let me concentrate on anything and I also couldn’t swallow my own siliva. 

It transpired that I have a kidney infection and tonsillitis. Either of these on their own can be pretty horrible so having both at the same was highly unfortunate. 

Luckily I am on the mend. I spent a day in the accident and emergency department being tested and then treated with countless drips that hung from a pole on wheels, and pumped medicine into me. 

I don’t know how long it took because I ended up falling asleep due to pure exhaustion but when I woke up it was very lucky that drip was on wheels because I desperately needed the toilet. 

All that fluid and medicine had done me the world of good and I was feeling far better for it. 

Luckily I proved to the doctor that I could just about eat an egg sandwich so he let me go home with a stack full of medicine to make me 100% again. 

Now, as unpleasant as being really ill is, once you’re on the mend but still not quite well enough to go back to work, there is only one thing that you can do and that is watch endless episodes of your favourite TV show on Netflix. 

I usually feel guilty for spending a day doing this but when you’re ill the guilty feeling is not present. 

– always look on the bright side of life! (Haha) 

Leave a Reply

